Tuesday, May 02, 2006

ABC Meme


Accent: I would think urban Western American, but I think my years in Australia and Boston tweaked my accent in some mild-but-permanent way. Near the end of my two-year mission in Australia, I was pleased not to be taken as American right off the bat by other Aussies.

Booze: I wish, but I’m Mormon.

Chore I Hate: My very most hated is marking and/or grading student papers. I also hate sorting the family's socks, doing anything in the yard, and doing the treadmill, although I like listening to audiobooks while on the treadmill. Strangely, I actually enjoy many household tasks, such as loading the dishwasher and vacuuming.

Dog or Cat: Neither. Pets are a pain. But I would lean toward dogs…

Essential Electronics: Lights, fridge, cooking, computer, music player, AC. I could live without visual media and telephone.

Favorite Cologne(s): Dial soap.

Gold or Silver: No strong opinion.

Hometown: Depends on what this means. I was born in Newport, Rhode Island. I lived the longest in Bountiful, Utah, where my parents still live. I currently live in Provo, Utah. Spiritually I belong in Boston.

Insomnia: I’ve had more trouble than ever with this in the last four months, but it seems to be fading now.

Job Title: Senior Writer.

Kids: Two adopted in a previous marriage (Jordan, age 11; Sophie, age 9). Three begat in my current marriage (Austin, age 6; Kimball, age 1; Zach, age 4 mos.).

Living arrangements: I live in a five-bedroom, 30-plus-year-old house just a few blocks north of the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah.

Most admirable trait: Take your pick: tolerant, mellow, funny, organized, hairy.

Number of sexual partners: Five. (That’s lifetime total, not current number.)

Overnight hospital stays: Only one, when I had a biopsy of my chest tumor that turned out to be Hodgkin’s.

Phobias: None, really. I don’t like spiders or serial killers or home teaching, but not to the degree of phobia.

Quote: “Yesterday I woke up sucking a lemon.” –Radiohead

Religion: Mormon.

Siblings: Six sisters who all live in Utah, three brothers who all live out of state.

Time I wake up: On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I wake up at 6:30 to do the treadmill. On Tuesday and Thursday, I wake up at 7:00. On weekends, I get up between 8:00 and 9:00; if it’s on the earlier side, it’s because Kimball or another kid got me up.

Unusual talent or skill: Writing, humor.

Vegetable I refuse to eat: Anything too overcooked and mushy. However, I really like vegetables; I would pick this category over the fruit category. Fruit can be wonderful, but it is so often too hard, not sweet enough, too mushy, or otherwise disappointing.

Worst habit: Plucking my beard, drinking too much cola.

X-rays: I’ve never broken a bone, but I’ve had more chest x-rays than I can count, due to my Hodgkin’s disease.

Yummy foods I make: In my family, I’m known for making spaghetti and tuna, both out of the can.

Zodiac sign: Libra. And I do relate with and fulfill many of the characteristics. According to a quick google, the good traits include diplomatic and urbane, romantic and charming, easygoing and sociable, idealistic and peaceable. On the dark side, indecisive and changeable, gullible and easily influenced, flirtatious and self-indulgent.

3 comments:

Joseph's Left One said...

Now I'm going to have "Everything in its Right Place" stuck in my head for the rest of the day. And I don't even have Kid A here at the office. sigh

I enjoyed the alphabetical journey through your head.

Montgomery Q said...

Dial soap makes me nauseous because when I worked at the home for mentally handicapped we would have to shower them in the morning. They gave us a little paper cup of Dial to scrub under their crotch. It was especially difficult to cleanse the wheelchair-bound, but they had specially designed chairs with holed bottoms.

jana said...

Hey Chris--
My replies to your meme are here:
http://pilgrimgirl.blogspot.com/2006/05/abc-meme.html